top of page

A Dream Come True

So I have returned from my girls' weekend away to Melbourne, and boy does hubby have a surprise for me - an antique Louis XV style marble mantelpiece!!! I was gobsmacked. Never in a million years did I imagine that we would be able to source a piece like that for our renovation. I had done some initial research into importing a piece like this from France but when I discovered the price, I balked and decided that this was one piece of French styling that we did not have room for in our budget. While I was away over the weekend, hubby came upon a Facebook post from a friend in Melbourne who is about to renovate her home. They were redoing the house in the Victorian style and wanted to get rid of all other pieces of furniture and finishes in the house that did not suit their needs. This amazing carrara marble mantelpiece was one of the pieces they were looking at selling.

Hubby couldn't wait to tell me the news. I had barely gotten into the car at the airport, and he had shoved his phone in my face, to show me this photo. I have to say I was super excited when he told me the details. We drove straight to the house to check out the measurements of the space we had set aside for the gas heater. Hubby was on the phone with his friend, getting exact measurements. It was a perfect fit!!!! We could not believe our good fortune. Another quick phone call to his friend, and a quick money transfer to their account, and this wonderful, amazing, beautiful piece was ours. It was a dream come true.

Featured Post
Search By Tag
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2014 by BVCLam. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page